PCC | 2009 Annual Election results

PCC Natural Markets

Facebook Pinterest Instagram

2009 Annual Election results

2 PCC board members voting
Nominating committee member Kelly Horton (l) answers a question from volunteers (l-r) Lekha Tang and Karen Gaudette during PCC's 2009 election.

A member of the nominating committee serves as arbiter in the ballot count process each year.

(May 29, 2009) — PCC's 2009 annual election began on Tuesday, April 28 and ended Friday, May 22. The ballots were counted at a public meeting on Monday, May 25. Results of our 2009 election are below.

On behalf of the board, Board Administrator Janice Parker Theiss notes, “The membership was fortunate to have such an outstanding group of candidates from which to choose. The board congratulates the winners and thanks all of the candidates for the energy and time they devoted to the entire electoral process."

“We especially would like to thank all the members who voted. This is a critical part of our governance system,” Parker Theiss continued.

Board of Trustees View candidate statements & video
* The top three candidates are elected to three-year terms on PCC's Board of Trustees.
Stephen Tan* 1,360
Stacey Donahue* 1,225
Maggie Lucas* 945
Mark Woodward 499
Stuart Heath 487
Nominating Committee View candidate statements
All five candidates are elected to one-year terms on the 2008-2009 PCC Nominating Committee
Diana Crane 1,361
Don Nordness 1,262
Mary Simon 1,258
Janet Hietter 1,235
Rick Riehle 1,128

Total valid ballots cast: 1,719 (3.864 percent of 44,490 active members)
Quorum required for board or bylaws election is 3 percent of active membership.

About PCC's annual election

A nine-member board of trustees directs PCC. Trustees serve three-year terms. There are three open trustee positions each year. An election is held each May to fill those positions.

The membership also selects a nominating committee in the annual election, choosing up to six members who serve for one year. The nominating committee recruits, screens and presents a slate of candidates to the membership for consideration in each annual election. The bylaws also provide a mechanism for candidates to be nominated by petition.

All active members may vote in all PCC elections. In addition to the annual elections, members may also vote on member initiatives or amendments to the articles or bylaws.

Quorums for all elections are set forth in PCC's Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws, Section V, Paragraph 4.


If you have questions about the PCC elections, please contact Janice Parker at 206-547-1222, ext. 126, or e-mail:

Thank you for your vote!

Login (Why?)