PCC | 2013 annual election results

PCC Natural Markets

Facebook Pinterest Instagram

2013 annual election results

(May 30, 2013) — PCC's 2013 annual election began on Tuesday, April 23 and ended Tuesday, May 21. The ballots were counted at a public meeting on Monday, May 27.

nominating committee members
2012-2013 nominating committee members: (l-r) Tempest, Hietter and Lamsek.

"On behalf of the board and nominating committee, we thank all the members who voted and all the staff in the stores and office who helped manage the election," said Carol Binder, board chair.

"The election is a major part of what sets PCC apart. Our co-op is owned by our members and they choose our leadership. The board also appreciates the work of the nominating committee in selecting the candidates."

Nominating committee acting chair Janet Hietter added, "We very much appreciate the efforts of all our candidates and all who applied. The election process requires an investment of time and energy. It was clear that each of our candidates is committed to PCC. The committee believes that the co-op will be well-served by the new trustees." The other members of the 2012-2013 nominating committee are Julianne Lamsek, Tom Monahan, Mary Simon and Julie Tempest.

John Sheller was elected to his second term, Taso Lagos and Karen May were elected to their first terms. Complete election results are shown below.

John Sheller
John Sheller
Taso Lagos
Taso Lagos
Karen May
Karen May
Board of Trustees
View candidate statements & video »
* The top three candidates are elected to three-year terms on PCC's Board of Trustees.
John Sheller* 1,601 votes
Taso Lagos* 1,489 votes
Karen May* 1,448 votes
Art Scheunemann 888 votes
Nominating Committee
View candidate statements »
All five candidates are elected to one-year terms on the 2013-2014 PCC Nominating Committee
Julie Tempest 1,600 votes
Tom Monahan 1,597 votes
Mary Simon 1,586 votes
Janet Hietter 1,540 votes
Don Nordness 1,523 votes

Quorum required for board election is 3 percent of active membership.

Total valid ballots cast: 2,100 (4.175 percent of 50,301 active members)

Thank you for your vote!

About PCC's annual election

A nine-member board of trustees directs PCC. Trustees serve three-year terms. There are three open trustee positions each year. An election is held each May to fill those positions.

2012-2013 nominating committee members: (l-r) Lamsek, Monahan and Simon.
2012-2013 nominating committee members: (l-r) Lamsek, Monahan and Simon.

The membership also selects a nominating committee in the annual election, choosing up to six members who serve for one year. The nominating committee recruits, screens and presents a slate of candidates to the membership for consideration in each annual election. The bylaws also provide a mechanism for candidates to be nominated by petition.

All active members may vote in all PCC elections. In addition to the annual elections, members may also vote on member initiatives or amendments to the articles or bylaws.

Quorums for all elections are set forth in PCC's Articles of Incorporation or Bylaws, Section V, Paragraph 4.


If you have questions about the PCC elections, please contact Janice Parker at 206-547-1222, ext. 126, or e-mail:

Login (Why?)